Help / The Help Forum

This thread was closed automatically due to a lack of responses over the last month.

Hot Topics

[Official Thread] Have an idea for Flickr? Share it here.
Latest: 2 days ago
[Updated April 15] Beginning Rollout of New Flickr Notifications Center and Settings
Latest: 3 days ago
[Updated April 26, 2021] Flickr is moving payments to Stripe
Latest: 8 months ago
Welcome to the Flickr Help Forum! Click here to get started and to read our Forum Guidelines.
Latest: 14 months ago

 

Current Discussion

How do I post in the "Ideas" thread?
Latest: 58 minutes ago
How to post a question
Latest: 62 minutes ago
Mapping problem: Yellowstone National Park missing?
Latest: 2 hours ago
Login nightmare . . .
Latest: 4 hours ago
[Investigating] Error when I try to add tags in Batch editing
Latest: 5 hours ago
Extreme bias in moderation bot
Latest: 6 hours ago
[Monitoring Fix] Site is slow again
Latest: 7 hours ago
There was an error and photos were not saved
Latest: 11 hours ago
[Investigating] non Flickr members can't see my pics
Latest: 12 hours ago
Replacing photos
Latest: 12 hours ago
Cant remeber login
Latest: 27 hours ago
[Acknowledged by Flickr Staff] Adding to Showcase Problem
Latest: 31 hours ago
More...

Search the Help Forum

Add notes, tags, and people:

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠ says:

I have "Add notes, tags, and people:"

Set to Add notes, tags, and people: Only you

And people are still adding notes and tags to my images. How can this be fixed?

And how can I trust other security options (restricted download) are actually working?
Posted at 1:09AM, 15 June 2021 PDT ( permalink )

view photos

ernstkers says:

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠:

And people are still adding notes and tags to my images.

If pictures are in groups, the other members of that group can add notes and tags to them. It overrides the "Only you" setting.
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠ says:

ernstkers:

It might be nice if they could explain that when you select "Only you" expecting that to mean; only you. I would also like to understand the rationale for posting to groups overriding other user settings...... just laziness by developers?

Also, does presence in groups override the no download feature?
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠ says:

ernstkers:

But thanks for taking time to provide an explanation. It is appreciated
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

mcnod says:

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠:

I would also like to understand the rationale for posting to groups overriding other user settings...... just laziness by developers?

Hardly that! You see, back when groups were designed, they were actually intended to be social in nature. When you placed a photo in a group you hoped for interaction on your image. The overriding of certain settings was appreciated by many (and still is today).

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠:
does presence in groups override the no download feature?

No, that setting is not affected or changed by group participation.
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

mcnod says:

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠:

It might be nice if they could explain that when you select "Only you" expecting that to mean; only you.

They do on the left of the page where you edited the setting:
www.flickr.com/account/prefs/photoprivacy/?from=privacy

Note: If you add something to a group pool, that group's members will be able to view and add notes, comments or tags, regardless of privacy settings.
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

ernstkers says:

A Blessing in Disguise ♠♠:

It might be nice if they could explain that when you select "Only you"

On the settings page is this text:

Note: If you add something to a group pool, that group's members will be able to view and add notes, comments or tags, regardless of privacy settings.

www.flickr.com/account/prefs/photoprivacy/?from=privacy
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

Viejito says:

ernstkers:

On the settings page is this text:
True, but who reads all the small print?...😀
Maybe they should put it in bigger and bolder red warning letters...
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

ernstkers says:

Viejito:

Maybe they should put it in bigger and bolder red warning letters...

And flashing? Perhaps Flickr does when they renew this very old page. Then they also might remove the outdated text about uploading by email...
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

view photos

Viejito says:

ernstkers:

And flashing?
I was actually thinking of flashing, but figured that thàt would be overdoing it...😉
Posted 6 weeks ago. ( permalink )

This thread was closed automatically due to a lack of responses over the last month.

Subscribe to a feed of stuff on this page... Feed – Subscribe to help discussion threads