Help / The Help Forum

Hot Topics

[Official Thread] Have an idea for Flickr? Share it here.
Latest: 14 hours ago
New Flickr Notifications Center and Settings available to all members.
Latest: 5 weeks ago
[Updated April 26, 2021] Flickr is moving payments to Stripe
Latest: 11 months ago
Welcome to the Flickr Help Forum! Click here to get started and to read our Forum Guidelines.
Latest: 17 months ago

 

Current Discussion

Sudden drop in overall views.
Latest: 2 minutes ago
Why can't we put cover pics that in our groups?
Latest: 7 hours ago
Going to "end" in Faves
Latest: 8 hours ago
Cannot Download Photos from Web Browser on iPhone
Latest: 9 hours ago
The "Your Inbox Appears Empty" bug strikes again
Latest: 10 hours ago
why my safe photos are beeing restriced by the bot?
Latest: 11 hours ago
[Acknowledged by Flickr Staff] Notifications - not showing older than 2hrs
Latest: 13 hours ago
Feed page vs. People page
Latest: 16 hours ago
iOS Flickr App
Latest: 26 hours ago
[Identified] No pictures photostrip or else!
Latest: 2 days ago
[BUG] The "photos not in a set" filter isn't working in Organizr
Latest: 2 days ago
photos being stolen?
Latest: 2 days ago
More...

Search the Help Forum

"Block" someone?

catalinamountains says:

Ever since I "blocked" someone from my notifications a few weeks ago, they show up in my notifications every single day. It's the opposite of what I intended. Here is who I "blocked":

(member name removed by Flickr Staff)
Posted at 7:33AM, 25 September 2021 PDT ( permalink | reply )
katie_ko (staff) edited this topic 4 weeks ago.

view photos

Viejito says:

catalinamountains:

1. You should not block the admin of a group you are in. Just leave the group.

2. Blocking someone only stops them from contacting you, faving or commenting on your photos, sending you flickrmail, etc. It does not keep you from seeing their stuff.

3. Did you block them or just stop one kind of notification?
Posted 4 weeks ago. ( permalink | reply )

view photos

mag3737 says:

2,3 (more on these points) One could reasonably argue that this is a loophole in the capability of "blocking". You could make a suggestion about this in Flickr's "suggestions" thread here: www.flickr.com/help/forum/en-us/72157714720744427/page11/

But practically speaking, if you're opting to receive group notifications, and you don't want to see anything from an admin of some particular group, then you really need to NOT be in that group.

4. You are not supposed to call out people by name in the Help Forum.
Posted 4 weeks ago. ( permalink | reply )

view photos

catalinamountains says:

Okay, thanks for all the advice.
I will simply quit the group.
Sorry I didn't know proper blocking etiquette. Please forgive me.
Posted 4 weeks ago. ( permalink | reply )
catalinamountains edited this topic 4 weeks ago.

view photos

Tread Travels says:

catalinamountains:

Before leaving a group, use the option MUTE THIS GROUP............ Worked for me. I mute every notification I get from FLICKR Groups so when I sign in I do not have 10,million ridiculous notifications
Posted 4 weeks ago. ( permalink | reply )

view photos

MabelAmber️***Pluto5339***MysteryGuest says:

catalinamountains:

Sorry I didn't know proper blocking etiquette. Please forgive me.

A good start would be to remove the name of a fellow Flickr member from your OP....

(as suggested by mag3737.)
Posted 4 weeks ago. ( permalink | reply )

Subscribe to a feed of stuff on this page... Feed – Subscribe to help discussion threads